Published Opinions

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966. Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format.

To view PDF documents, you will need the free Adobe Reader. If you need assistance, view our PDF Help page.


2021 Published Opinions

Opinion # Case Date
2021 ME 50 Jennifer Gamage et al. v. Public Utilities Commission et al. October 12, 2021
2021 ME 49 Cecelia Boles v. Karen M. White et al. October 7, 2021
2021 ME 48 In re Child of Nicholas G. September 28, 2021
2021 ME 47 State of Maine v. Christopher Murray September 28, 2021
2021 ME 46 Marina Narowetz v. Board of Dental Practice September 28, 2021
2021 ME 45 Kimberly LaMarre et al. v. Town of China et al. September 16, 2021
2021 ME 44 Robert L. Connary et al. v. Richard A. Shea et al. September 14, 2021
2021 ME 43 State of Maine v. Bruce Akers September 14, 2021
2021 ME 42 Christopher J. Caiazzo v. Secretary of State July 29, 2021
2021 ME 41 State of Maine v. Mark Gessner July 27, 2021
2021 ME 40 Patricia H. Parks Monteith v. George H. Monteith Jr. July 27, 2021
2021 ME 39 State of Maine v. Dustan J. Bentley July 22, 2021
2021 ME 38 Kevin J. Hill v. Town of Wells et al. July 13, 2021
2021 ME 37 State of Maine v. F Daly July 8, 2021
2021 ME 36 In re Children of Kacee S. July 8, 2021
2021 ME 35 Madison Paper Industries v. Town of Madison
Revised September 7, 2021 (Errata sheet)
July 6, 2021
2021 ME 34 Portland Regional Chamber of Commerce et al. v. City of Portland et al. July 6, 2021
2021 ME 33 20 Thames Street LLC et al. v. Ocean State Job Lot of Maine 2017 LLC June 24, 2021
2021 ME 32 Fair Elections Portland, Inc., et al. v. City of Portland June 17, 2021
2021 ME 31 State of Maine v. Mark Cardilli Jr. June 17, 2021
2021 ME 30 Eric B. Low v. Tommie E. Low June 10, 2021
2021 ME 29 Adoption by Tamra M. May 18, 2021
2021 ME 28 Stephen Doane v. Department of Health and Human Services May 13, 2021
2021 ME 27 Timothy Atkinson v. Elizabeth Capoldo May 6, 2021
2021 ME 26 Somerset Telephone Company et al. v. State Tax Assessor
Revised June 10, 2021 Order on Motion for Reconsideration
April 29, 2021
2021 ME 25 State of Maine v. Noah Gaston April 29, 2021
2021 ME 24 Meridian Medical Systems, LLC, et al. v. Epix Therapeutics, Inc., et al. April 27, 2021
2021 ME 23 City of Old Town v. Expera Old Town, LLC April 20, 2021
2021 ME 22 Benjamin H. Hodgdon II v. State of Maine April 15, 2021
2021 ME 21 Roque Island Gardner Homestead Corporation v. Town of Jonesport
Revised September 2, 2021 (Errata sheet)
April 8, 2021
2021 ME 20 Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC v. Casey Clougherty
Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC v. Richard Docampo
April 6, 2021
2021 ME 19 Joshua A. Gray v. Department of Public Safety
Revised September 2, 2021 (Errata sheet)
April 6, 2021
2021 ME 18 State of Maine v. Sharon Carrillo April 1, 2021
2021 ME 17 Robert Charest v. Hydraulic Hose & Assemblies, LLC, et al. March 30, 2021
2021 ME 16 Bernard Nadeau v. Twin Rivers Paper Company, LLC
Revised September 7, 2021 (Errata sheet)
March 30, 2021
2021 ME 15 State of Maine v. Timothy Silva March 25, 2021
2021 ME 14 H&B Realty, LLC v. JJ Cars, LLC, et al.
Revised April 22, 2021 (Errata sheet)
March 23, 2021
2021 ME 13 John P. Moyant v. Regina Petit et al. March 23, 2021
2021 ME 12 State of Maine v. Philip L. Clark March 16, 2021
2021 ME 11 Deutsche Bank Trust Company Americas v. Stephen L. Clifford February 25, 2021
2021 ME 10 Corinth Pellets, LLC v. Arch Specialty Insurance Co. et al. February 23, 2021
2021 ME 9 State of Maine v. Mario Gordon February 23, 2021
2021 ME 8 Apple Inc. v. State Tax Assessor February 18, 2021
2021 ME 7 State of Maine v. Brandon Glenn
Revised March 16, 2021 (Errata sheet)
January 28, 2021
2021 ME 6 A.S. v. Lincoln Health January 28, 2021
2021 ME 5 Guardianship by Joseph W. et al.
Revised September 2, 2021 (Errata sheet)
January 26, 2021
2021 ME 4 Arthur Bibeau v. Concord General Mutual Insurance Company January 26, 2021
2021 ME 3 State of Maine v. Anthony S. Leng January 14, 2021
2021 ME 2 Wells Fargo Banks, National Association v. John H. Bump et al. January 12, 2021
2021 ME 1  Carol Cutting v. Down East Orthopedic Associates, P.A. January 12, 2021


Older Opinions

2016 and prior years' opinions will be available soon.

Citations

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:
Dutil v. Burns
, 1997 ME 1, ¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations. Provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.