Published Opinions

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966. Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format.

2023 Published Opinions

Opinion # Case Date
2023 ME 10 State of Maine v. Douglas E. Wilcox January 26, 2023
2023 ME 9 Fair Elections Portland, Inc., et al. v City of Portland January 26, 2023
2023 ME 8 Maine Coalition to Stop Smart Meters v. Public Utilities Commission et al. January 24, 2023
2023 ME 7 State of Maine v. Mark D. Penley January 19, 2023
2023 ME 6 Andrew H. Proctor v. Christina S. Childs January 17, 2023
2023 ME 5 Nadine R. Aubuchon v. Franklin D. Blaisdell Jr. January 12, 2023
2023 ME 4 State of Maine v. Brandon J. Gibb January 12, 2023
2023 ME 3 Ashley L. Whitmore v. Nicholas A. Whitmore January 10, 2023
2023 ME 2 Pat Doe v. James H. Walsh January 5, 2023
2023 ME 1 Premier Diagnostics v. Invitae Corporation January 5, 2023

 

Older Opinions

2016 and prior years' opinions will be available soon.

Citations

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:
Dutil v. Burns
, 1997 ME 1, ¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations. Provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.