About the Maine Judicial Branch

The Maine Judicial Branch is Maine’s state court system, comprising the Supreme Judicial Court, the Superior Court, the District Court, and the Administrative Office of the Courts.


"To administer justice by providing a safe, accessible, efficient and impartial system of dispute resolution that serves the public interest, protects individual rights, and instills respect for the law."

The Judicial Branch has set three strategic priorities to assist in fulfilling this mission:

  1. Providing access to justice;
  2. Ensuring the effective and efficient delivery of justice; and
  3. Fostering public trust, confidence, and impartiality in the justice system.

Read Priorities and Strategies for Maine's Judicial Branch (PDF)

The Judicial Branch is one of three co-equal branches of state government under the Maine Constitution along with the Executive and Legislative branches. Judges and Justices are appointed by the Governor, confirmed by the Senate, and serve seven-year terms. Learn more about the judicial nomination process at Office of Governor Janet T. Mills Judicial Nominations page.

Judicial Branch Annual Report

2023 Annual Report