Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, 2017-18 Edition, provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 
 

 

This year's opinions

February 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 25 Petition of Edwin R. Jonas III for Reinstatement to the Bar of the State of Maine February 14, 2019
2019 ME 24 Adoption of Riahleigh M.
Adoption of MyAnnah D.
February 14, 2019
2019 ME 23 In re Patricia S. February 12, 2019
2019 ME 22 Adoption of Ivan M. February 12, 2019
2019 ME 21 Marcel Dubois et al. v. Town of Arundel et al. February 12, 2019
2019 ME 20 In re Children of Travis G. February 5, 2019

 

January 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 19 Eric V. Warnquist et al. v. State Tax Assessor January 29, 2019
2019 ME 18 John Sweet II v. Carl E. Breivogel et al. January 29, 2019
2019 ME 17 Sherwood Associates LP v. Olanian Jackson January 29, 2019
2019 ME 16 State of Maine v. Christopher W. Roy January 29, 2019
2019 ME 15 In re Children of Bradford W. January 29, 2019
2019 ME 14 In re Child of Jonathan D. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 13 In re Child of Nicholas G. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 12 York County et al. v. PropertyInfo Corporation, Inc. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 11 Tanya J. McMahon v. Christopher P. McMahon January 24, 2019
2019 ME 10 State of Maine v. Thomas Ferguson January 24, 2019
2019 ME 9 In re Children of Crystal G. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 8 Eric Ring v. Daniel Leighton v. Clinton McGaw January 22, 2019
2019 ME 7 State of Maine v. Wendy L. Gagne January 17, 2019
2019 ME 6 State of Maine v. Todd J. Perkins January 15, 2019
2019 ME 5 Danielle N. (Hashey) Cashman v. Jaison W. (Hashey) Robertson January 15, 2019
2019 ME 4 In re Children of Corey W. January 10, 2019
2019 ME 3 Littlebrook Airpark Condominium Association v. Sweet Peas, LLC, et al. January 8, 2019
2019 ME 2 In re Children of Mary J. January 3, 2019
2019 ME 1 In re Children of Shirley T. January 3, 2019