Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, 2017-18 Edition, provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 
 

 

This year's opinions

April 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 61 State of Maine v. Cade H. Ayotte April 23, 2019
2019 ME 60 State of Maine v. Luc W. Tieman April 23, 2019
2019 ME 59 In re Children of Bethmarie R. April 18, 2019
2019 ME 58 State of Maine v. Matthew C. Reed-Hansen April 16, 2019
2019 ME 57 In re Children of Christine A. April 16, 2019
2019 ME 56 In re Child of Peter T. April 16, 2019
2019 ME 55 Estate of John W. Gilbert April 11, 2019
2019 ME 54 Michael A. Lee v. Town of Denmark April 11, 2019
2019 ME 53 Laurie Allen v. Mark Rae April 11, 2019
2019 ME 52 In re Child of Megan D. April 9, 2019
2019 ME 51 State of Maine v. Daniel B. Tucci Sr. et al. April 4, 2019
2019 ME 50 Kimberly B. Scott et al. v. Fall Line Condominium Association April 4, 2019
2019 ME 49 State of Maine v. Amanda Bennett-Roberson April 4, 2019
2019 ME 48 Edward J. Harshman v. Sheila C. Harshman April 4, 2019

 

March 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 47 Bartolo P. Ford v. State of Maine March 28, 2019
2019 ME 46 State of Maine v. Kevin Robinson March 28, 2019
2019 ME 45 Kenneth W. Ross et al. v. Acadian Seaplants, LTD. March 28, 2019
2019 ME 44 State of Maine v. Michael G. Cunneen March 26, 2019
2019 ME 43 State of Maine v. Dwain A. Sykes March 26, 2019
2019 ME 42 Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB v. Matthew J. Needham et al. March 14, 2019
2019 ME 41 State of Maine v. David T. Brown March 14, 2019
2019 ME 40 John C. McGarvey v. Susan L. McGarvey March 12, 2019
2019 ME 39 In re Child of Amanda H. March 12, 2019
2019 ME 38 Robbie M. Nason v. Timothy Pruchnic et al.
Revised April 23, 2019 (Errata sheet)
March 12, 2019
2019 ME 37 State of Maine v. John M. Burbank March 7, 2019
2019 ME 36 Daniel R. Lawson v. Debby Willis March 7, 2019
2019 ME 35 State of Maine v. Robert Hansley March 5, 2019
2019 ME 34 In re Children of Tiyonie R. March 5, 2019
2019 ME 33 State of Maine v. Arthur J. Jones March 5, 2019
2019 ME 32 Donald G. Durkin v. Joyce L. Durkin March 5, 2019

 

February 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 31 In re Children of Christopher S. February 28, 2019
2019 ME 30 State of Maine v. Jeffrey A. Cookson February 26, 2019
2019 ME 29 Daniel Raposa Jr. et al. v. Town of York et al. February 26, 2019
2019 ME 28 State of Maine v. Philip S. Fournier February 21, 2019
2019 ME 27 Jacob Berry v. Mainstream Finance February 21, 2019
2019 ME 26 Hearts with Haiti, Inc., et al. v. Paul Kendrick February 21, 2019
2019 ME 25 Petition of Edwin R. Jonas III for Reinstatement to the Bar of the State of Maine February 14, 2019
2019 ME 24 Adoption of Riahleigh M.
Adoption of MyAnnah D.
February 14, 2019
2019 ME 23 In re Patricia S. February 12, 2019
2019 ME 22 Adoption of Ivan M. February 12, 2019
2019 ME 21 Marcel Dubois et al. v. Town of Arundel et al. February 12, 2019
2019 ME 20 In re Children of Travis G. February 5, 2019

 

January 2019
Opinion # Case Date
2019 ME 19 Eric V. Warnquist et al. v. State Tax Assessor
Revised April 23, 2019 (Errata sheet)
January 29, 2019
2019 ME 18 John Sweet II v. Carl E. Breivogel et al. January 29, 2019
2019 ME 17 Sherwood Associates LP v. Olanian Jackson January 29, 2019
2019 ME 16 State of Maine v. Christopher W. Roy January 29, 2019
2019 ME 15 In re Children of Bradford W. January 29, 2019
2019 ME 14 In re Child of Jonathan D. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 13 In re Child of Nicholas G. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 12 York County et al. v. PropertyInfo Corporation, Inc. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 11 Tanya J. McMahon v. Christopher P. McMahon January 24, 2019
2019 ME 10 State of Maine v. Thomas Ferguson January 24, 2019
2019 ME 9 In re Children of Crystal G. January 24, 2019
2019 ME 8 Eric Ring v. Daniel Leighton v. Clinton McGaw January 22, 2019
2019 ME 7 State of Maine v. Wendy L. Gagne January 17, 2019
2019 ME 6 State of Maine v. Todd J. Perkins January 15, 2019
2019 ME 5 Danielle N. (Hashey) Cashman v. Jaison W. (Hashey) Robertson January 15, 2019
2019 ME 4 In re Children of Corey W. January 10, 2019
2019 ME 3 Littlebrook Airpark Condominium Association v. Sweet Peas, LLC, et al. January 8, 2019
2019 ME 2 In re Children of Mary J. January 3, 2019
2019 ME 1 In re Children of Shirley T. January 3, 2019