Judicial Branch Recognizes Employees for Outstanding Work

Date: 7/9/2024

Supreme Judicial Court Chief Justice Valerie Stanfill and State Court Administrator Amy Quinlan hosted an award luncheon celebrating the contributions of Judicial Branch employees and teams to advance the work and mission of the Judicial Branch. This year's awards, the first presented since the COVID-19 pandemic, were coordinated by the newly constituted Judicial Branch Employee Action Committee, comprised of staff representing every area and department within the Judicial Branch. The committee received well over 100 total nominations in the six categories for which awards were given.

CATEGORIES ROOKIE OF THE YEAR AWARD A new employee who has less than three years of service, has demonstrated outstanding work ethic, shows promise and excels in tasks, works well with other team members, and has demonstrated commitment to excellent service.

Recipient: Karie Quirino, Associate Clerk, Presque Isle

SERVICE ROCKSTAR AWARD An employee who on a day-to-day basis, provides excellent customer service with internal or external customers, has excellent communication skills, is conscientious, maintains a positive and professional attitude, and displays patience, empathy, and adaptability.

Recipient: Mark Veilleux, Associate Systems Administrator, Office of Information & Technology, Administrative Office of the Courts, Augusta

SUPER SQUAD AWARD A group of people that work together to solve a problem or have positively impacted their organization or helped achieve organizational goals. The group has actively demonstrated by example, excellent teamwork, collaboration, and problem-solving skills. Nominees can be a traditional department team/group or a combination of talents from different units that work together and make a positive impact.

Recipient: Androscoggin County Clerks Office Andy Frechette, III, Clerk of Court Joline Chaloux, Robbin Rittie, Randeelynn Smith, Sandra Therrien, Linda Mason, Michelle Haggan, Jessica Guimond, Caitlan Campbell, Amy Jo Doyle, Kayla Pittman-Cahill, Beth Asselin, Jennifer Galloway, Lynn Levesque, Cara Thibodeau, Abby Roy, Aryz Terlaje, Amy Carman, April Whitney, Michael Teriault

UNSUNG HERO AWARD Someone you may not interact with daily but has had a positive influence on a person, program, or organization in a way that may not be visible to all. This individual is a stable and dependable resource that has made a positive impact, goes above & beyond everyday expectations, and may not have received recognition.

Recipient: Nickole Wesley, Communications Access Specialist, Office of Court Access, Administrative Office of the Courts, Portland

ROY RICE AWARD The person, group, or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the safety and the well-being of the employees of the Judicial Branch and/or those persons who participate in court activities.

Recipient: Lewiston District Court Judicial Marshals Chief Deputy Mark Tibbetts, Sergeant John Irving, Deputy Marshal Gabriel Lovering, and Deputy Marshal Chris Ivers

MOVER OF MOUNTAINS AWARD An employee who should be considered "Player of the Year," always has a positive attitude, goes above & beyond, has three (3) or more years of service, demonstrates exceptional performance, shows courtesy to fellow employees, and has demonstrated commitment to excellent service.

Recipient: Diana Durgin, Clerk of Court, Penobscot County Courts, Bangor

In presenting this years awards, Chief Justice Stanfill said, I am honored to work alongside these and other colleagues at the Judicial Branch. Their dedication, passion, and excellence makes the Judicial Branch the special place that it is to work. All of us at the Judicial Branch are proud to serve the people of Maine to advance the mission of administering justice in an accessible, safe, efficient, and impartial manner every day.

Contact: Barbara Cardone, Esq., Director of Legal Affairs and Public Relations Barbara.Cardone@courts.maine.gov 207-213-2803 (office)

Supporting documents

Chief's Awards Press Release (PDF)