Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by email to lawcourt.clerk@courts.maine.gov.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, 2015 Edition, provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 

This year's opinions

August 2016
Opinion # Case Date
2016 ME 136 Donald Petrin et al. v. Town of Scarborough August 16, 2016
2016 ME 135 State of Maine v. Ali M. Mahmoud August 16, 2016
2016 ME 134 State of Maine v. Roxanne Jeskey August 16, 2016
2016 ME 133 State of Maine v. Michael D. Figueroa August 16, 2016
2016 ME 132 Estate of Barbara M. Frost August 16, 2016
2016 ME 131 Drilling & Blasting Rock Specialists, Inc. v. Paul Rheaume August 16, 2016
2016 ME 130 Kyle Dietrich v. Hilary A. Dietrich August 16, 2016
2016 ME 129 Estate of Paul Gagnon August 11, 2016
2016 ME 128 Kristin (Hanson) Hutt v. Todd Hanson August 11, 2016
2016 ME 127 Guardianship of Marviline Luneau August 11, 2016
2016 ME 126 State of Maine v. Franklin F. Arbour Jr. August 11, 2016
2016 ME 125 In re Magdalena F. et al. August 9, 2016
2016 ME 124 Sandra Bastille v. Maine Public Employees Retirement System August 9, 2016
2016 ME 123 State of Maine v. Christopher T. Knight August 4, 2016
2016 ME 122 Jorge A. Torres v. Department of Corrections August 2, 2016
2016 ME 121 Day's Auto Body, Inc. v. Town of Medway et al. August 2, 2016

 

July 2016
Opinion # Case Date
2016 ME 120 State of Maine v. Crystal Palmer July 28, 2016
2016 ME 119 State of Maine v. Kevin W. Carton
State of Maine v. Micah Carton
July 28, 2016
2016 ME 118 Ocean Communities Federal Credit Union v. Guy R. Roberge et al. July 26, 2016
2016 ME 117 American Express Bank FSB v. Diane Deering July 26, 2016
2016 ME 116 In the Matter of Robert M.A. Nadeau July 21, 2016
2016 ME 115 Robert D. Rossignol v. Maine Public Employees Retirement System July 21, 2016
2016 ME 114 Cedar Beach/Cedar Island Supporters, Inc. v. Gables Real Estate LLC July 19, 2016
2016 ME 113 In re Adden B. July 19, 2016
2016 ME 112 Stephen Cushing v. Ann Cushing July 14, 2016
2016 ME 111 Xpress Natural Gas, LLC v. Cate Street Capital, Inc., et al. July 14, 2016
2016 ME 110 State of Maine v. Derek S. Poulin July 14, 2016
2016 ME 109 Alberta Graf v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company July 14, 2016
2016 ME 108 Estate of Dennis R. Kay v. Estate of Douglas J. Wiggins et al. July 12, 2016
2016 ME 107 Danielle Sullivan v. St. Joseph's Rehabilitation and Residence et al. July 12, 2016
2016 ME 106 In re Aliyah M. July 12, 2016
2016 ME 105 Sarah E. Cheney v. Unemployment Insurance Commission July 12, 2016
2016 ME 104 Marc G. Mosher v. State Harness Racing Commission July 12, 2016
2016 ME 103 State of Maine v. James R. Simmons
State of Maine v. Frederick A. Campbell
July 12, 2016
2016 ME 102 State of Maine v. Randall Daluz July 12, 2016
2016 ME 101 Camden National Bank v. Ilene F. Weintraub et al. July 7, 2016
2016 ME 100 Estate of Lois W. Smith et al. v. Timothy Salvesen July 7, 2016
2016 ME 99 Guardianship of Harold Sanders July 7, 2016
2016 ME 98 Kate T. (Goroshin) McCarthy v. Igor Goroshin July 7, 2016
2016 ME 97 Nationstar Mortgage LLC v. Timothy E. Halfacre July 5, 2016

 

June 2016
Opinion # Case Date
2016 ME 96 Lois Young v. Joseph Lagasse et al. June 30, 2016
2016 ME 95 State of Maine v. John E. Sasso June 28, 2016
2016 ME 94 Robert M. Cote v. Donald R. Cote et al. June 28, 2016
2016 ME 93 Erin (Wallace) Little v. Stephen W. Wallace June 21, 2016
2016 ME 92 Estate of John W. Gilbert June 21, 2016
2016 ME 91 Sara J.T. Behr v. Maine Public Employees Retirement System June 14, 2016
2016 ME 90 Estate of Jeanne S. Reed June 9, 2016
2016 ME 89 Osprey Family Trust v. Town of Owls Head et al. June 7, 2016
2016 ME 88 Estate of Steven Summers et al. v. Gregory Nisbet June 7, 2016
2016 ME 87 Richard L. Marston v. Armande C. Marston June 7, 2016
2016 ME 86 Selcuk Karamanoglu v. Catherine (Karamanoglu) Gourlaouen June 7, 2016
2016 ME 85 Patricia Grant et al. v. Foster Wheeler, LLC, et al. June 7, 2016
2016 ME 84 State of Maine v. April M. Dupont June 7, 2016
2016 ME 83 State of Maine v. Kenneth Frisbee June 7, 2016
2016 ME 82 In re Nicholas S. et al. June 2, 2016

 

May 2016
Opinion # Case Date
2016 ME 81 Adoption of Priscilla D. May 31, 2016
2016 ME 80 Guardianship of Hailey M. May 26, 2016
2016 ME 79 Louise Dorr v. Sarah Woodard May 26, 2016
2016 ME 78 Todd A. Kilborn v. Nicole Carey et al. May 26, 2016
2016 ME 77 Jenna Gordius v. Randall G. Kelley et al. May 26, 2016
2016 ME 76 Daniel J. McLeod v. Louise M. Macul
Corrected June 2, 2016 (Errata sheet)
May 26, 2016
2016 ME 75 State of Maine v. Merrill Kimball May 24, 2016
2016 ME 74 Terrence E. Pinkham v. Department of Transportation May 19, 2016
2016 ME 73 State of Maine v. Tracy Dorweiler
Revised July 21, 2016 upon motion for reconsideration
May 17, 2016
2016 ME 72 Lisa-Marie Seger v. Karla Nason May 17, 2016
2016 ME 71 Bruce D. Taylor et al. v. Public Utilities Commission et al. May 12, 2016
2016 ME 70 State of Maine v. David Bradley May 10, 2016
2016 ME 69 State of Maine v. Michaela C. Davenport May 10, 2016
2016 ME 68 Nathalie Taft Andrews et al. v. Sheepscot Island Company May 10, 2016
2016 ME 67 State of Maine v. Erica J. Wallace Parkin May 5, 2016
2016 ME 66 Adoption of Liam O. May 3, 2016
2016 ME 65 State of Maine v. David L. Violette May 3, 2016

 

April 2016
Opinion # Case Date
2016 ME 64 Estate of Steven L. Lake April 28, 2016
2016 ME 63 Jennifer A. Kilton v. Darin W. Kilton April 26, 2016
2016 ME 62 Chadwick-BaRoss, Inc. v. City of Westbrook, et al. April 21, 2016
2016 ME 61 State of Maine v. Carter McBreairty
Corrected May 3, 2016 (Errata sheet)
April 21, 2016
2016 ME 60 Kevin F. Strong v. Rebecca M. Brakeley et al. April 21, 2016
2016 ME 59 State of Maine v. Dale M. Pinkham Sr. April 21, 2016
2016 ME 58 Benjamin L. Yap v. Alyssa L. Vinton April 14, 2016
2016 ME 57 Mainers for Fair Bear Hunting et al. v. Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife et al. April 14, 2016
2016 ME 56 John E. Deschenes v. City of Sanford April 14, 2016
2016 ME 55 Charles D. Wardwell v. John R. Duggins et al. April 12, 2016
2016 ME 54 State of Maine v. Moses King April 12, 2016
2016 ME 53 State of Maine v. Gerald B. Kennedy April 12, 2016
2016 ME 52 Guardianship of Aubree Thayer April 12, 2016
2016 ME 51 Suzan M. Collins v. Richard W. Collins
Corrected August 16, 2016 (Errata sheet)
April 12, 2016
2016 ME 50 State of Maine v. Kyle J. Dube
Corrected April 21, 2016 (Errata sheet)
April 7, 2016
2016 ME 49 State of Maine v. Herbert R. Simmons Sr. April 5, 2016

 

March 2016
Opinion # Case Date
2016 ME 48 Darling's Auto Mall v. General Motors LLC March 31, 2016
2016 ME 47 State of Maine v. Holly Morrison March 31, 2016
2016 ME 46 State of Maine v. Crystal Hodsdon March 31, 2016
2016 ME 45 Brenda L. Freeman v. NewPage Corporation et al. March 31, 2016
2016 ME 44 R. Bruce Montgomery et al. v. Eaton Peabody, LLP et al. March 29, 2016
2016 ME 43 James A. Ehret v. Deborah B. Ehret March 24, 2016
2016 ME 42 State of Maine v. Bethmarie Retamozzo March 22, 2016
2016 ME 41 Arthur Murdock v. Martin Thorne et al. March 10, 2016
2016 ME 40 State of Maine v. Desiray A. Poulin March 8, 2016
2016 ME 39 State of Maine v. Brandon C. Hayes March 8, 2016
2016 ME 38 Town of Carthage v. Friends of Maine's Mountains March 8, 2016
2016 ME 37 State of Maine v. Leanna M. Norris March 3, 2016
2016 ME 36 State of Maine v. Joshua R. Nisbet March 1, 2016
2016 ME 35 Beverly A. Gravison et al. v. Calvert M. Fisher et al.
Corrected June 30, 2016 (Errata sheet)
March 1, 2016

 

February 2016
Opinion # Case Date
2016 ME 34 Oceanic Inn, Inc. et al. v. Sloan's Cove, LLC February 23, 2016
2016 ME 33 Somerset County v. Department of Corrections
Corrected March 1, 2016 (Errata sheet)
February 18, 2016
2016 ME 32 In re Hannah S.
Formerly In re Daphne
Corrected May 26, 2016 (Errata sheet)
February 18, 2016
2016 ME 31 State of Maine v. John E. Arndt
Corrected June 28, 2016 (Errata sheet)
February 18, 2016
2016 ME 30 In re Dakota K. et al.
Formerly In re Aiden et al.
Corrected May 26, 2016 (Errata sheet)
February 16, 2016
2016 ME 29 Guardianship of Kiara Lantigua et al.
Formerly Guardianship of Abigail Doe et al.
Corrected May 26, 2016 (Errata sheet)
February 11, 2016
2016 ME 28 Estate of Paul R. Galipeau v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company February 11, 2016
2016 ME 27 Susan E. Bryant v. Town of Camden et al. February 9, 2016
2016 ME 26 Fiduciary Trust Co. et al. v. Manchester H. Wheeler Jr. February 4, 2016
2016 ME 25 State of Maine v. Christopher Sudsbury
Corrected May 24, 2016 (Errata sheet)
February 4, 2016
2016 ME 24 State of Maine v. Buddy Robinson February 2, 2016

January 2016
Opinion # Case Date
2016 ME 23 Julie Lothrop v. Doug Lothrop January 28, 2016
2016 ME 22 State of Maine v. Travis L. Lyon January 26, 2016
2016 ME 21 Elena Wechsler v. John P. Simpson January 26, 2016
2016 ME 20 Phyllis Bradbury et al. v. City of Eastport et al. January 26, 2016
2016 ME 19 Ed Friedman et al. v. Public Utilities Commission et al. January 26, 2016
2016 ME 18 In re C.P. et al. January 26, 2016
2016 ME 17 U.S. Bank National Association v. Christopher J. Curit et al.
Corrected May 12, 2016 (Errata sheet)
January 21, 2016
2016 ME 16 Linda Penkul v. Town of Lebanon January 21, 2016
2016 ME 15 Kevin Dube v. Lisa Dube January 19, 2016
2016 ME 14 State of Maine v. Harvey Austin Jr. January 19, 2016
2016 ME 13 Hughes Bros., Inc. v. Town of Eddington January 14, 2016
2016 ME 12 State of Maine v. Jason J. Weaver January 14, 2016
2016 ME 11 Warren Construction Group, LLC v. Leslie Reis et al. January 14, 2016
2016 ME 10 The Bank of New York v. John B. Dyer et al. January 14, 2016
2016 ME 9 State of Maine v. Charles R. Black
Corrected February 2, 2016 (Errata sheet)
January 14, 2016
2016 ME 8 Casey D. (Cavagnaro) Hamlin v. Jason T. Cavagnaro January 14, 2016
2016 ME 7 Jonathan Day v. Board of Environmental Protection et al. January 14, 2016
2016 ME 6 Samantha Ramelli v. Unemployment Insurance Commission
Corrected April 28, 2016 (Errata sheet)
January 12, 2016
2016 ME 5 State of Maine v. Richard E. Murphy January 12, 2016
2016 ME 4 Barbara A. (Macomber) Hero v. Joseph O. Macomber January 12, 2016
2016 ME 3 Carolyn H. Dumas v. Ian D. Milotte January 12, 2016
2016 ME 2 In re G.T. et al.
Corrected May 3, 2016 (Errata sheet)
January 12, 2016
2016 ME 1 In re M.E. January 7, 2016