Includes amendments effective November 15, 2023

RULE 76D. APPEAL TO THE SUPERIOR COURT

This Rule applies only to appeals from District Court judgments which, by
law, may be appealed to the Superior Court. It does not apply to direct appeals
from the District Court to the Law Court. Such appeals are governed by the
Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure.

Whenever a judgment of the District Court is by law reviewable by the
Superior Court, an aggrieved party may appeal from a judgment of the District
Court to the Superior Court in the county in which the division of the District
Court entering judgment is located. The time within which an appeal may be
taken shall be 30 days from the entry of the judgment appealed from, except
that: (1) upon a showing of excusable neglect the court in any action may extend
the time for filing the notice of appeal not exceeding 30 days from the expiration
of the original time herein prescribed; and (2) if a timely notice of appeal is filed
by a party, any other party may file a notice of appeal within 14 days of the date
on which the first notice of appeal was filed, or within the time otherwise herein
prescribed, whichever period last expires. The running of the time for appeal
is terminated by a timely motion made pursuant to any of the rules hereinafter
enumerated, and the full time for appeal fixed in this subdivision commences
to run and is computed from the entry of any of the following orders made upon
a timely motion under such rules: making findings of facts or conclusions of law
as requested under Rule 52(a); or granting or denying a motion under
Rule 52(b); or granting or denying a motion under Rule 59 to alter or amend
the judgment; or denying a motion for a new trial under Rule 59. An appeal
from a judgment, whenever taken, preserves for review any claim of error in
the record including any claim of error in any of the orders specified in the
preceding sentence, even if entered on a motion filed after the notice of appeal.
The filing of a motion for any such order does not waive or otherwise render
ineffective a previously filed notice of appeal from the same judgment if timely
filed, and the time periods for taking any further steps to secure review of the
judgment appealed from shall be measured from the date of the entry of such
an order on a timely motion. An appeal shall not be dismissed because it is
designated as being taken from such an order, but shall be treated as an appeal
from the judgment. The appeal shall be taken by filing a notice of appeal with
the clerk of the District Court. Rule 2(a) of the Maine Rules of Appellate
Procedure rules shall govern the form of the notice of appeal and notification
of other parties. The notice of appeal is a pleading for the purposes of Rule 11.



The appeal shall be on questions of law only and shall be determined by
the Superior Court without jury on the record on appeal specified in Rule 76F.
Any findings of fact of the District Court shall not be set aside unless clearly
erroneous.

Within the time for filing the notice of appeal the appellant shall pay to
the clerk of the District Court the entry fee in and the cost of forwarding to the
Superior Court the record on appeal specified in Rule 76F. The clerk of the
District Court shall then transfer the record to the Superior Court. The clerk of
the Superior Court shall then promptly enter the appeal. If by accident or
mistake the required payment is not made within the time prescribed, the court
may, on motion of either party, allow the late payment of the required fees and
direct the clerk to enter the appeal in the Superior Court; but attachment or bail
shall not thereby be revived or continued.

An appeal may be dismissed by stipulation filed with the clerk, or, after
entry in the Superior Court, with the clerk of the Superior Court.

If an appellant fails to comply with the provisions of Rules 76D through
76G within the time prescribed therein, the Superior Court may, on motion of
any other party or on its own motion after notice to the parties, dismiss the
appeal for want of prosecution.

The Superior Court may enter a judgment reversing or affirming, in
whole or in part, the judgment appealed from and shall thereupon remand the
case to the District Court from which it originated for entry of the appropriate
judgment, or for any further proceedings. If the Superior Court remands the
case for further proceedings, all issues raised on the appeal from the District
Court shall be preserved in a subsequent appeal taken from a final judgment
entered in the action.

Advisory Note - November 2023
The fourth paragraph of Rule 76D is amended in light of the Maine Rules

of Electronic Court Systems to require that the District Court clerk transfer the
record to the Superior Court rather than forwarding it to the Superior Court.



Advisory Notes
July 2003

This amendment, adding an initial paragraph to M.R. Civ. P. 76D, is to
address continuing confusion which court clerk’s offices are facing with
unrepresented individuals seeking to file all appeals under Rule 76D because it
is the only explicit appeal provision appearing in the Civil Rules. The cross-
reference to the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure may help in clarifying this
matter.

Advisory Committee’s Notes
January 1, 2001

P.L. 1999, Chapter 731, §§ ZZZ-2 et seq. unified the Superior Court and
the District Court civil jurisdiction, with certain stated exceptions. 4 M.R.S.A.
§ 57 was amended to permit direct appeal to the Law Court from the District
Court except in certain specified actions. Thus, a new introductory phrase
“[wlhenever a judgment of the District Court is by law reviewable by the
Superior Court” is added to the first sentence of Rule 76D to make clear that the
appeal from a judgment of the District Court to the Superior Court is available
only in those actions by law reviewable in the Superior Court. All other District
Court judgments are reviewable by the Law Court under amended 4 M.R.S.A.

§57.

Advisory Committee’s Notes
June 2, 1997

Rule 76D is amended to clarify that an order of remand from the Superior
Court to the District Court is not a final judgment from which an appeal lies,
absent special circumstances. The amendment is not intended to change the
law governing final judgments, moot issues or the preservation of issues for
appeal. The amendment simply makes clear that in the ordinary case, an order
of remand is not appealable and, to the extent that issues have been properly
preserved throughout the course of the proceedings and are ripe for appeal
when the remanded issues have been decided, the appeal from the final
judgment preserves issues raised prior to the remand.



Advisory Committee’s Notes
1993

Rule 76D is amended by adding language to make clear that an appeal
from the District Court to the Superior Court is entered by the Superior Court
clerk only after payment of the fees by the appellant in the District Court and
transmission of the record to the Superior Court by the District Court clerk.



