## STATE OF MAINE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT

## ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER JB-08-1

### ESTABLISHMENT OF JUDICIAL REGIONS

### Effective: July 1, 2008

#### I. SCOPE AND PURPOSE

The Maine Judiciary supports a statewide court system providing access to justice in District and Superior Courts (trial courts) and the Supreme Judicial Court.

The purpose of this Administrative Order is to authorize the trial courts to act on a regional basis where appropriate to improve access to justice. The goals of the regional system are to share responsibilities between the trial courts; eliminate unnecessary duplication of judicial and clerical effort; increase efficiency; and provide predictable judicial action and event certainty to promote early, less costly and fair disposition of cases. This Administrative Order also implements the statutory authority pursuant to 15 M.R.S. § 1255-A to establish regional grand juries where appropriate to serve the purposes and goals stated herein.

#### II. REGIONS

Pursuant to 4 M.R.S. § 19, the following judicial regions are created for administrative and venue purposes:

Region I: York Superior Court, Biddeford District Court, Springvale District Court, York District Court;

Region II: Cumberland Superior Court, Portland District Court, Bridgton District Court;

Region III: Androscoggin Superior Court, Lewiston District Court, Franklin Superior Court, Farmington District Court, Oxford Superior Court, South Paris District Court, Rumford District Court;

Region IV: Kennebec Superior Court, Augusta District Court, Waterville District Court, Somerset Superior Court, Skowhegan District Court;

Region V: Penobscot Superior Court, Bangor District Court, Lincoln District Court, Millinocket District Court, Newport District Court, Piscataquis Superior Court, Dover-Foxcroft District Court;

Region VI: Knox Superior Court, Rockland District Court, Lincoln Superior Court, Wiscasset District Court, Sagadahoc Superior Court, West Bath District Court, Waldo Superior Court, Belfast District Court;

Region VII: Hancock Superior Court, Ellsworth District Court, Washington Superior Court, Machias District Court, Calais District Court; and

Region VIII: Aroostook Superior Court, Caribou District Court, Fort Kent District Court, Houlton District Court, Madawaska District Court, Presque Isle District Court.

# III. REGIONAL AUTHORITY FOR GRAND JURIES

Within each judicial region, a grand jury sitting in any county in the region may share authority to receive evidence and indict for crimes committed at any place within the judicial region. The Chief Justice of the Superior Court is authorized to issue a standing order indicating the procedures for convening and the extent to which shared authority of each grand jury to sit in a multicounty judicial region may be exercised.

For the Court,

/S Leigh I. Saufley Chief Justice

Promulgation Date: June 27, 2008